First of all, let me just say that I ADORE the decoration of the site; so many pretty things to stare at! Good job, Icey! (The decorations for March, which were done by Lily, were AMAZING, and I thought that all the pictures she used were really cute!) Anyways, I'm really sorry that y'all haven't heard from me in a while now (I have no excuse), so to make up for it, I have just posted a new short story! Check it out; you know where to find it (if not, it's on the Short Stories page of the site). I have also written another story, which I will most likely post tomorrow because I sent it to Lily and Ice Cream for them to proofread and make sure everything is all right.I also briefly considered playing an April Fools prank on you guys, but Lily's pranks are always the best ones (last year, she said that we were giving up on the paper dolls page), and she outdoes herself each year; can't wait to see what comes next! I've also been working on some poetry, which is more of Lily's forte, and I will put it up as soon as possible. Moving on, did you guys watch the Kids' Choice Awards last night? I did, and I was so disappointed because Harry Potter didn't win any awards! Can you believe it?! Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted the best book series; as if it could ever be better than Harry Potter. What upset me even further was the fact that Kristen Stewart (of all people!) won the Best Movie Actress award over Emma Watson, who deserved it so much more! Worst of all, Puss in Boots was voted best movie over Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Kids these days. I have never been more disappointed. My brother was screaming at the television, and I can't say that I was any better. Well, at least Harry Potter still has its own theme park, which, in my opinion, trumps Disney as the most magical place on earth. Just a random question: have any of you guys read 'Alice in Wonderland'? We did in my lit. class, and it was hands-down the single most confusing book I have ever read. It is a brilliant book, though, and I have the utmost respect for Lewis Carroll. I think that my favorite part of reading Alice in Wonderland in my lit. class was the test that we took. Seriously. Don't look at this post as if I'm crazy! Our test was actually really simple: we had to choose 2 symbols that represent Alice in the novel, and choose 2 colors per symbol. We also had to write 8 sentences about why we chose said symbols and colors. It might as well be the easiest test I ever took in the 9th grade (so far). I think that we've come across some truly brilliant pieces of literature in our class this year, and I have really enjoyed most of the books we have read. A book I highly recommend (that we read in class) is Lord of the Flies, by William Golding; although some dislike it, I think it is extremely well-written and explores many interesting themes about basic human nature. To Kill a Mockingbird is another great book to read because it explores themes of prejudice in the southern town of Maycomb, Alabama, and the story also makes a full circle (meaning that the beginning truly connects with the ending). I know that a lot of people dislike the book, but that's probably because we beat it to death trying to find every little instance of symbolism, foreshadowing etc... Edgar Allen Poe, although rather morbid, was also an amazing author, and his works are brilliant. In terms of more modern novels, I've always thought that The Help was a great book, and the Mysterious Benedict Society is something I would definitely recommend.If you want anymore suggestions, you can ask us in the comments or send us an email; we'd love to hear from you. I have to go to bed; it's getting pretty late...
See You Soon!
<3 Silver



Leave a Reply.